Historic preservation celebrated in Oil Region


The Oil Region Alliance of Business, Industry and Tourism was proud to honor the 2019 Oil Heritage Region Historic Preservation Award recipients in a ceremony held Thursday, May 16 at the First Baptist Church in Franklin, PA.


The 2019 Oil Heritage Region Historic Preservation Award recipients (from left) Juliet Hilburn, Neil McElwee, Mother Elizabeth, Missy Wescoat, Lance Hummer, Noni Stanford, and Bob Joyce.


The 2019 winners are:

The Derrick / The News-Herald
Historic Appreciation: “Out of the Archives” Series
Nominated by: Allan Montgomery

Missy’s Arcade Restaurant, 216 Diamond Street, Titusville
Reconstruction: Missy Wescoat
Nominated by: Titusville Renaissance, Inc.

Keystone Community Education Council
Enhancement: Office space in National Transit Building, Oil City, PA
Nominated by: Emily Altomare

Titusville Iron Works, 315 South Franklin Street, Titusville
Adaptive Reuse and Preservation Stewardship: Bob Joyce
Nominated by: Titusville Renaissance, Inc.

St. James Memorial Episcopal Church, 112 East Main Street, Titusville
Preservation Stewardship
Nominated by: Titusville Historical Society

St. John’s Episcopal Church, 1145 Buffalo Street, Franklin
Preservation Stewardship
Nominated by: Historic Franklin Preservation Association

Juliet Hilburn
Preservation Education/Initiative: Ridgway Cemetery, Hydetown
Nominated by: Jennifer Burden

Former Salvation Army Building, 229 Elm Street, Oil City
Adaptive Reuse: Oil Region Alliance
Nominated by: Oil City Main Street Program

More than 150 Historic Preservation Awards have been given since 1997. To view the complete list of prior recipients, please refer to See the section entitled: Oil Region National Heritage Area/Historic Preservation Awards.